Creating Looks (and Working with Explores)

Looks are an integral part of Customer Insights: not only are Looks useful in their own right but Looks also serve as a key building block for Dashboards.

With that in mind, you might be thinking, “Wow, I better find the Create New Look button and start building some Looks.” But here’s a tip before you do that: there is no Create New Look button in Customer Insights (nor is there any sort of Create New Look menu option). In fact, there’s no way to “create” a Look: instead, you start with an Explore, and then save that Explore as a Look. That might sound a little complicated but, as you’re about to see, it’s actually pretty easy.

And no, you can’t “save” an Explore: Explores are (depending on how you want to look at it) read-only. (Why? Well, for one thing, that way you’ll always know exactly what getting each time you open an Explore.) Just remember this formula: you start with an Explore, and then save that Explore as a Look. That might not be everything you need to know, but it’s a good start.

Note, too that, after a Look has been created, you edit the Look itself: you don’t make changes to an Explore. However, the editing pane for a Look is pretty much indistinguishable from the editing pane used by an Explore:

Because of those similarities, this documentation will primarily talk about working with Explores; however, pretty much everything we talk about is also true when it comes to editing Looks. The main difference? After editing a Look, you have to click Save to save those changes or Cancel to discard your changes:

Note. You also won’t find any Save As options: when you edit a Look, the only thing you can do is update that particular Look.

Explores don’t have a Save button. To save any work you’ve done in an Explore, you have to click the Options icon and choose either Save as Look or Save to Dashboard:

This section of the documentation includes the following topics: