Deleting a Saved Filter

Filters can be deleted at any time by completing the following procedure:

  1. Click the Search profiles field to display the search history/saved filters list.
     
  2. In the list, click the name of the filter than you want to delete. The filter is displayed in the Guided Search pane:
  3. Click the Searches and Filters icon and then click Delete selected filter:
  4. In the Are you sure you want to delete this saved filter? message box, click Delete:

As long as we’re on the subject, you might have noticed that the Guided Search section includes a trash can icon. In turn, you might have thought, “I bet that’s how you delete a saved filter.” As it turns out, however, the trash can icon doesn’t delete filters; instead, it deletes individual clauses from a filter. For example, suppose we have a filter with two clauses, one clause for the created attribute and the other for the primaryAddress.country attribute:

If you click the trash can icon next to the primaryAddress.country clause, that clause is deleted:

However, the filter itself remains, and the remaining trash can icon is now disabled. Why? Because we only have one clause left in our filter, and you can’t have a filter that doesn’t have at least one clause.