Flickr Social Login Configuration Guide


Flickr is a website and web service that hosts images and video, and has approximately 92 million registered users.

Before You Begin

To use Flickr for social login you must:

  • Use the Janrain Dashboard to configure Flickr as a social login provider. No additional configuration is required.

In This Configuration Guide

  • Configuring Flickr as a Social Login Provider
  • Testing Flickr Social Login
  • Removing Flickr as a Social Login Provider

Configuring Flickr as a Social Login Provider

To configure Flickr as a social login provider, complete the following procedure:

  1. Log on to your Janrain Dashboard (https://dashboard.janrain.com).
  2. From the Dashboard home page, click the Manage Engage Dashboard icon.
  3. From the Engage Dashboard home page, in the Widgets and SDKs section, click Sign-Ins.
  4. From the Sign-in page, verify that Widget is selected and then expand Providers.
  5. From the list of Providers, click Flickr. Flickr appears in your social login widget.
  6. When you are finished, select Save and Publish and then click Publish. It might take as long as one hour before Flickr appears as a social login option on your web site.

Testing Flickr Social Login

To test Flickr social login, complete the following procedure:

  1. Do one of the following:
    • If you have just published your widget settings, click the Test your widget link that appears after the widget has been saved.
    • If you previously published your widget settings then, from the Engage Dashboard Sign-in page, click Launch a test widget.
       
  2. From the Test page, click the Flickr icon:

  1. In the Yahoo! window, logon using a valid Flickr account:

  1. If login succeeds, information returned from the Flickr profile is displayed in the API response preview field:

The returned profile information will vary depending on:

  • The Flickr account used in the test.
  • The profile information you requested for Flickr.

You can verify Flickr profile fields by completing the following procedure:

  1. From the Engage Dashboard home page, click the Manage Providers icon:

  1. From the Configure Providers page, click Flickr.
     
  2. Profile information returned from Flickr is displayed onscreen. For example:

Fields not marked with an Off or an Ask label are automatically returned when a user logs on using a Flickr account.

For fields that are marked with a label, click Off to request that the information be returned. The Off label will change to Ask, meaning that, at logon time, the user will be asked whether he or she gives permission for that data to be returned:

On the Configure Providers page, click Ask to turn off the information request.

See Also


Removing Flicker as a Social Login Provider

If you no longer want to use Flickr for social login, you can remove Flickr as a social login provider by completing the following procedure:

  1. Log on to your Janrain Dashboard (https://dashboard.janrain.com).
  2. From the Dashboard home page, click the Manage Engage Dashboard icon.
  3. From the Engage Dashboard home page, in the Widgets and SDKs section, click Sign-Ins.
  4. From the Sign-in page, verify that Widget is selected and then expand Providers.
  5. In the widget, click the X in the upper right corner of the Flickr icon.
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the page, select Save and Publish, and then click Publish. Flickr no longer appears in the sign-on widget.
Note. You must always have at least one social login provider in the widget. If you delete all the providers and then click Publish, you’ll see the error message Couldn’t save configuration: No providers.