The Shared Space is the default location for Dashboards and Looks intended to be shared with an organization (or with one or more departments in an organization). For the most part, there are three levels of Dashboard and Look sharing:
- Not shared at all. If a Dashboard or Look is intended for your use only, you can store this item in your personal space and not give anyone else access to the space.
- Shared with a few people. If you want to share a Dashboard or Look with a selected group of people, you can store that item in your personal space and then give access to specific users and/or specific groups.
- Shared with everyone. If a Dashboard or Look is intended for use by your entire organization (or by an entire department), you can store that item in the Shared Space. Items in the Shared Space inherit the access settings configured for the Shared Space: if everyone in the organization has access to the Shared Space then everyone in the organization will have access to the Dashboards and Looks found in that space. (Keep in mind, however, that only administrators have the right to store items in the Shared Space.)
Of course, you don’t have to give everyone access to a Space; that’s up to you. Alternatively, you can also create sub-spaces and use different access permissions for each of those spaces. For example, you might create a sub-space named IT and give access only to users who belong to the IT group. Or suppose you access a Space and see something similar to this:
This simply means that this Space contains a pair of sub-spaces: Custom Reports and Customer Journey Analytics. If you choose, you can set different access permissions on these two spaces. Let’s assume that Custom Reports is for all users, and Customer Journey Analytics is only for users who belong to a specific group. In that case, a user who doesn’t belong to that group will see this when he or she access the Shared Space:
A couple quick notes about viewing items in Shared Space:
From time-to-time you might see a Look that features a little gauge icon:
The gauge icon indicates that the Look is used on at least one Dashboard. If you want to see which Dashboards the Look can be found on, hover your mouse over the gauge icon:
Both Looks and Dashboards might also show a calendar icon; this indicates that you have applied one or more schedules to the item:
Click the item to view the schedules. Note that you can only view your schedules. You cannot see anyone else’s schedules; for that matter, you can’t even know if anyone else has scheduled the Dashboard or Look.