Social Sharing Overview

Social Sharing v3 supports a variety of ways to share information across social networks. By adding a simple, streamlined bar of providers, users may share a URL within a social network, directly with friends on the network, or via email. Sharing may be configured to use the Janrain UI, the social provider’s native UI, or a mixture of both. Each provider supports different sharing methods and features, so refer to the following sections for detailed information on the sharing configurations available to each provider.

Social Sharing requires a Social Login application. If you are already utilizing a Social Login solution, you may use the same application for sharing. See a demo of Social Sharing.

Authenticated Share

An Authenticated Share is an activity shared to a user’s wall or status, a friend’s wall, the wall of a group to which the user belongs, or other social network update using the Janrain UI and the provider’s sharing APIs. This functionality requires the provider to be configured with your Social Login application.

Native Share

A Native Share is an activity shared to a user’s wall or status, a friend’s wall, the wall of a group to which the user belongs, or other social network update using the provider’s native sharing UI and APIs. This functionality does not require any configuration in your Social Login application since it does not display the Janrain sharing interface or require the user to authorize the application to share. Note that native sharing will not be reported to the Janrain analytics dashboard.

Email Share

An Email Share is an activity shared directly to another user via a designated email service. Email sharing may be completed through a supported provider configured with your Social Login application or through a user’s native email client.