Yahoo! Social Login Configuration Guide


Yahoo! is an American web services provider that serves content to over 1 billion users each month. Yahoo! Mail alone has an estimated 225 million users.

Before You Begin

To use Yahoo! for social login you must:

  • Use the Janrain Dashboard to configure Yahoo! as a social login provider. No additional configuration is required.

In This Configuration Guide

  • Configuring Yahoo! as a Social Login Provider
  • Testing Yahoo! Social Login
  • Removing Yahoo! as a Social Login Provider

Configuring Yahoo! as a Social Login Provider

To configure Yahoo! as a social login provider, complete the following procedure:

  1. Log on to your Janrain Dashboard (https://dashboard.janrain.com).
  2. From the Dashboard home page, click the Manage Engage Dashboard icon.
  3. From the Engage Dashboard home page, in the Widgets and SDKs section, click Sign-Ins.
  4. From the Sign-in page, verify that Widget is selected and then expand Providers.
  5. From the list of Providers, click Yahoo!. Yahoo appears in your social login widget.
  6. When you are finished, select Save and Publish and then click Publish. It might take as long as one hour before Yahoo! appears as a social login option on your web site.

Testing Yahoo! Social Login

To test Yahoo! social login, complete the following procedure:

  1. From the Sign-in page, click Launch a test widget.
  2. From the Test page, click the Yahoo! icon:

  1. In the Yahoo! - login window, logon using a valid Yahoo! account:

  1. If login succeeds, information returned from the Yahoo! profile is displayed in the API response preview field:

The returned profile information will vary depending on:

  • The Yahoo! account used in the test.
  • The profile information you requested for Yahoo!

You can verify Yahoo! profile fields by completing the following procedure:

  1. From the Engage Dashboard home page, click the Manage Providers icon:

  1. From the Configure Providers page, click Yahoo!.
  2. Profile information returned from Yahoo! is displayed onscreen. For example:

Fields not marked with an Off or an Ask label are automatically returned when a user logs on using a Yahoo! account.

For fields that are marked with a label, click Off to request that the information be returned. The Off label will change to Ask, meaning that, at logon time, the user will be asked whether he or she gives permission for that data to be returned:

On the Configure Providers page, click Ask to turn off the information request.

See Also

Removing Yahoo! as a Social Login Provider

If you no longer want to use Yahoo! for social login, you can remove Yahoo! as a social login provider by completing the following procedure:

  1. Log on to your Janrain Dashboard (https://dashboard.janrain.com).
  2. From the Dashboard home page, click the Manage Engage Dashboard icon.
  3. From the Engage Dashboard home page, in the Widgets and SDKs section, click Sign-Ins.
  4. From the Sign-in page, verify that Widget is selected and then expand Providers.
  5. In the widget, click the X in the upper right corner of the Yahoo! icon.
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the page, select Save and Publish, and then click Publish. Yahoo! no longer appears in the sign-on widget.
Note. You must always have at least one social login provider in the widget. If you delete all the providers and then click Publish, you’ll see the error message Couldn’t save configuration: No providers.